Timothy Noël

Timothy Noël

Timothy Noël, born 1982 in Aalst (Belgium), received in 2004 his MSc degree (Industrial Chemical Engineering) from the KaHo Sint-Lieven in Ghent. He then moved to Ghent University to obtain a PhD at the Laboratory for Organic and Bioorganic Synthesis under the supervision of Professor Johan Van der Eycken (2005-2009). Next, he crossed the ocean to work at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) as a Fulbright Postdoctoral Fellow with Professor Stephen L. Buchwald. At MIT, he worked on the development of new continuous-flow methods for cross-coupling chemistry at the MIT-Novartis Center for Continuous Manufacturing. He became assistant professor in 2012 and associate professor in 2017 at Eindhoven University of Technology. In 2020, he was promoted to Full Professor at the University of Amsterdam where he is the Chair of Flow Chemistry. His research interests are flow chemistry, homogeneous catalysis and organic synthesis.

He received in 2011 the Incentive Award for Young Researchers from the Comité de Gestion du Bulletin des Sociétés Chimiques Belges, in 2012 a VENI award from NWO and he was also finalist of the European Young Chemist Award 2012. In 2013, he received a Marie Curie Career Integration Grant from the European Union. He coordinated the Marie Skłodowska-Curie ETN program “Photo4Future” on the development of photoredox catalysis in photomicroreactors (2015-2018). In 2015, he obtained a prestigious VIDI award from NWO. And in 2016, he received the Thieme Chemistry Journal Award. His research on photochemistry in microfluidic reactors was awarded the DECHEMA award 2017 and the Hoogewerff Jongerenprijs 2019. After 4 years as an associate editor of Journal of Flow Chemistry, he took over as editor in chief in 2019.

Get to know Tim better and read his Angewandte Chemie Author Profile.

You can also read a Young Career Focus Interview and his Engineering Emerging Investigator Profile.

Listen to Tim’s discussion with Lieven Scheire about research, his mission to make a greener chemical industry and his personal drive (Podcast is in Dutch only)


Full Professor
University of Amsterdam, 2020 – present

Associate Professor (tenured)
Eindhoven University of Technology, 2017 – 2020

Assistant Professor
Eindhoven University of Technology, 2012 – 2017


Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2010-2011
MIT-Novartis Center of Continuous Manufacturing
Advisor: Prof. Stephen L. Buchwald

Ph.D. in Organic Synthetic Chemistry
Ghent University, 2005-2009
Advisor: Prof. Johan Van der Eycken

M.Sc. Industrial Chemical Engineering
KaHo Sint Lieven, Ghent, 2000-2004



2019 Hoogewerff Jongerenprijs.
2017 DECHEMA Award” in recognition of his pioneering work on continuous photochemical conversion in microfluidic systems.
2016 “Thieme Chemistry Journal Award” for promising young professors at the beginning of their career.
2015 VIDI award (Netherlands Institute for Scientific Research, NWO)
2013 Marie Curie Career Integration Grant.
2012 VENI grant (Netherlands Institute for Scientific Research, NWO)

Finalist European Young Chemist Award, EuCheMS Conference.

2011 Incentive Award for Young Researchers 2011 (Comité de Gestion du Bulletin des Sociétés Chimiques Belges).
2010 Fulbright – Hays Award.

Social profiles: Linkedin, Google Scholar, Twitter.

Download the complete CV of Tim.

Tim @ TEDxAUCollege